My Heart to Yours

You are Loved. You are Valued. Be at Peace.

The Young and Old

on January 31, 2013

Tonight my family and I had the opportunity to go and visit my husband’s great uncle at Extendicare.   I think I have only ever met the man once before and he has never met any of our three kids.   The care home had put on a special supper and the families of those living in the home were invited to come for a great meal.  As a kid growing up with a pastor as a dad I remember visiting the “old folks homes” very often.  Usually on Sunday afternoons for an hour we would go and sing some songs, my dad would give a brief message and then we would just visit with the people there.  It was a part of my life and I grew to really love it.  I loved the people.  Even at a young age I loved going there.  I felt welcome.

That is how I felt again tonight.  It has been a long time since I’ve been to a care home, but it was like going back to my childhood tonight.  I felt comfortable.  Our kids were the only ones there.  They behaved wonderfully (surprisingly :p) and I had three compliments in a row from residents of the home or their own grown children.  My husband’s uncle was so sweet to the kids.  He played a little with Sam, he helped me put on my coat when it was time to leave and he gave each of my girls a kiss when we left.   I could see that they were a little shy, but they didn’t put up the usual fuss of being somewhere they didn’t want to be or doing something they didn’t want to do.  I could tell they were comfortable too.  It was a short visit, but something sparked within me as we were leaving.

I saw the joy and sparkle of youth in old eyes when they looked at my children.  I saw smiles on what were frowning faces when we first arrived.   My four year old was happy to give a hello to anyone who said so to her and she received many warm smiles in return.  I want that for my kids.  I want them to feel like they can be comfortable around ALL people, no matter what their disability may be or how old they are or where they live.  I don’t think that many people from my generation really think about taking their kids to visit the elderly, but I know in my heart that’s what I want for my children.  I want them to have respect and love and to learn from others….to learn things that I can’t possibly teach them because I don’t have the experience.  I want them to grow a love for all people, to be able to share openly, to share their contagious joy and touch lives in a positive way!

Most importantly I want them to see God in others.  I want them to be a shining light in what may be a dark place for some.  I want them to learn compassion, care and how to love others outside of their normal circle of friends.  I know that this will be a great teaching opportunity for me to my children and a wonderful learning experience for all of us.  My prayer is that the Lord will work through our family to reveal Himself to those who need Him.   God let us be your hands and feet, your smile and your warm embrace to the lonely and the sick.

“The teaching of the wise is a fountain of life, turning a man from the snares of death.”     

Proverbs 13:14

Uncle Tommy probably won’t remember that we were there to visit him a week from now, but I am thanking the Lord for a renewed love and respect for those that are older than I am.  I am thankful for a new opportunity to show my children a new way to serve the Lord and to learn from the elderly and to maybe, one day… share their own hearts with them.   Lord help us be Young at Heart, no matter how old we are.


2 responses to “The Young and Old

  1. Great writing Charissa. You have an insightfulness about you that will be a real blessing to others…happy you’re on the blogging bandwagon too!

  2. Natasha Wassenaar says:

    This was beautifully written Charissa! I agree as well – going to care homes was somewhat a part of my upbringing too – I absolutely love bringing joy and just loving on the elderly. They love to have children around as well, it brings joy and a sense of “newness” into their lives, and I think it should happen more often! I’m glad you posted this because that is a great example that I would also pray for my family – not just when we have kids but especially then. Amongst the hustle and bustle and busy-ness of life! Thanks for sharing! (I have been thinking about starting a blog myself, you’re pushing me even more in that direction! ha ha)

Leave a comment

Addicted To Turquoise

You are Loved. You are Valued. Be at Peace.

Love and Honesty

You are Loved. You are Valued. Be at Peace.

Gloria Guest

Welcome to my view of the world!

Pursuing Peace and Proverbs 31

You are Loved. You are Valued. Be at Peace.

The Brave Life | Monica Switzer

LIVING WHOLEHEARTEDLY IN EVERY SEASON

My Heart to Yours

You are Loved. You are Valued. Be at Peace.